Mission & Vision

Established as a nonprofit in 2004, Canadian Friends of Somalia (CFS) has made great progress in fostering youth & families empowerment and engagement through multi-disciplinary collaboration and continues to support and advocate for grassroots, community led and culturally responsive initiatives to tackle issues related to youth violence and victimization.

Community Engagement

Outreach workers will promote ongoing dialogue to identify and address issues that impact Somali youth and families.

Individual & Group Therapy

Clinical counselors will work alongside clients to address their emotional & psychological needs.

School-Based Programming

Delivering interactive, engaging and youth focused services to support academic excellence and personal growth.

Executive Director.

Juliet P. Brand

Farah Aw-Osman


Farah Aw-Osman has over 25 years of community work experience. He is a founding member of the Somali Centre for Family Services in Ottawa. Currently he is the Executive Director of the Canadian Friends Somalia.

Farah has worked extensively to help the Somali community in Canada and abroad tackle issues relating to youth justice, mental health and addictions, radicalization, anti-racism, settlement &integration as well as civic and diaspora engagement.

History of Canadian Friends of Somalia

Nation Building in Somalia (2008).

Our team launched this successful conference to shed light on the challenges and opportunities. One of the main objectives was to share the recommendations of this conference with the Canadian Government, new Somali authorities and the international community.


History

Substance Abuse Prevention (2012).

An urgent need to develop a culturally appropriate drug abuse prevention strategy for Somali youth and families in Ottawa was identified in 2007 by the Canadian Friends of Somalia (CFS)


History

Somali Youth Justice (2011 – 2013).

Through funding from Justice Canada, Rideauwood and CFS were able to create the current Somali Youth Justice Program in 2011. The targeted goals of this program are to reach out to Somali youth involved in the criminal justice system, and engage those youth and their families in ongoing counseling services to ultimately reduce the youth’s risk to re-offend.


History

Launch of the Rajo Project (2017).

RAJO is a means to increase awareness about youth health & wellness, positive thinking & effective decision-making, peer relationships, positive parent/child communication & stronger parent-school engagement.


History
Gallery
Gallery
Gallery
Gallery

Our Team

We have a passionate team of individuals working across two offices in Ottawa and Edmonton

Matt

Abdirahman Hashi

Site Supervisor

Hashi@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(613) 686-6333 Ext: 213


Matt

Mohamed Ismail

Outreach Worker

mohamed@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(613) 686-6333 Ext: 216


Matt

Yusuf Santur

Outreach Worker

santur@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(873) 353-3735

Matt

Manal Haji Egeh

Mental Health Clinician

manal@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(613) 686-6333 Ext: 214


Matt

Mandi Pekan

Mental Health Clinician

mandi@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(613) 686-6333 Ext: 215


Matt

Marian Nur

Data Analyst

marian@canadianfriendsofsomalia.org

(613) 686-6333 Ext: 218

Matt

Mirande Alexandre

Site Supervisor

mirande.alexandre@somaliedmonton.com

(780) 263-1393


Matt

Mussa Yussuf

Outreach Worker

mussa.yussuf@somaliedmonton.com

(780) 616-1461


Matt

Dr. Martella Montague

Clinical Psychologist

martella.montague@somaliedmonton.com

Matt

Sumiya Musse

Outreach Worker

sumiya.musse@somaliedmonton.com

(780) 616-1557


Matt

Zaki Hirabe

Data Analyst

zaki.hirabe@somaliedmonton.com

(780) 616-1246